City Council

  1. Mayor Tim Elinski Photo

    Tim Elinski

    Mayor - Term Expires: 2024

  2. Debbie Wilden Headshot resized

    Debbie Wilden

    Vice Mayor -Term Expires: 2026

  3. Photo5

    Stephen DeWillis

    Council Member - Term Expires: 2026

  4. Photo2

    Lisa DuVernay

    Council Member - Term Expires: 2026

  5. Kurot Photo

    Helaine Kurot

    Council Member - Term Expires: 2024

  6. Headshot

    Derek Palosaari

    Council Member - Term Expires: 2024

Current Vacancy:

The City of Cottonwood invites qualified electors residing within the City to submit an application, a letter of interest, and resumé outlining applicable experience for consideration of appointment to fill one City Council vacancy. The selected individual would be eligible to serve in this capacity through the conclusion of the Fall 2024 election cycle.

To be eligible for appointment, a candidate must be 18 years old, a qualified elector per ARS 16.121 residing within the City,  and must have resided within the City for at least one year immediately preceding the appointment.

Applications, letters of interest, and resumés may be submitted in person to the City Clerk's Office Office located at 824 North Main Street, Cottonwood, AZ 86326, by emailing by 11:59 pm, Saturday, December 2, 2023, or directly online here. Applicants will be reviewed at a Special Meeting on December 5th during a closed session. Selected applicants will be asked to participate in public interviews during a December 12 special meeting. 

Download the application here or apply online here

Regular Meetings

  • 1st and 3rd Tuesday of every month
  • 6:00 p.m.
  • City Council Chambers--Riverfront
    1083 East Riverfront Road
    Cottonwood, AZ 86326

Work Sessions

  • 2nd Tuesday of every month
  • 6:00 p.m.
  • City Council Chambers--Riverfront
    1083 East Riverfront Road
    Cottonwood, AZ 86326

Agendas and Minutes

View current and previous agendas and minutes

Notices and paper copies of the City Council meetings are posted at the following locations: Council Chambers--Riverfront building window (1083 East Riverfront Road), City Hall, and Library bulletin boards.

For information regarding Open Meetings from the Arizona Attorney General's office please click here: Agency Handbook Chapter 7: Open Meetings

Public Quorum Notices

Upcoming Events


Read current and previous Council Retreat Strategic Initiatives

Mission Statement

Inspiring a vibrant community


Vision Statement

  • The City of Cottonwood strives to maintain a uniquely desirable and sustainable community.
  • We are unique because of our people, our grand natural resources, public amenities, leadership, diversity, and hometown atmosphere.
  • We will continue to conserve, preserve and manage our precious resources, including the Verde River and its unique riparian habitat.
  • We will enhance our position as the economic center for the Verde Valley, providing retail, medical, education, transportation, recreation, and tourism.
  • The City of Cottonwood provides leadership and solutions to ensure a prosperous community where a diversity of people and nature thrive.


The City Council consists of the Mayor, Vice Mayor and five Council Members. The Mayor is directly elected to a four-year term. The Council Members are elected for four-year staggered terms. The Council designates one of its members as Vice Mayor, who serves at the pleasure at the Council. The Council makes policy decisions and is empowered to enact ordinances and policies to protect citizen's rights.